Archive for December 5th, 2011

12/05/2011

The glories of Soft Power

To me Joseph Nye’s article on Soft Power and public diplomacy was great.  It was clear, and concise and helped to refine how I see public diplomacy.  Which is a little disheartening since I did just do a long paper on it.  However I think that he does a wonderful job of describing what the difference is between soft power and public diplomacy.

“Good public diplomacy has to go beyond propaganda. Nor is public diplomacy
merely public relations campaigns. Conveying information and selling a
positive image is part of it, but public diplomacy also involves building long-term
relationships that create an enabling environment for government policies.”

I think this quote does an excellent job of summing up public diplomacy.  He also discusses how public diplomacy and policy must match up.  I think this is what the U.S. often does wrong.  It sends mixed messages to people, and as a result frustration with this turns to distrust.  In any relationship when you are constantly getting mixed signals, things don’t usually end very well.

I often find myself wondering, who actually comes up with this stuff?  Who is it that plans public diplomacy?  Do they think about how messages are read in other contexts and cultures?  It sometimes seems to me like people who are actually knowledgeable about a foreign place, and culture aren’t ever consulted when making these decisions.  If that is the case why aren’t they?  It seems so logical, that if you’re going to do a public diplomacy in the philippines you would get the input of not just a researcher, but someone with experience there.  Maybe this is how it’s done, I just find it hard to believe that so many messages aren’ t being read right, if they are.